Guest Speaker at NJ Bariatric Center

Yesterday was the last day of classes for my internship. So today is officially the first day of summer break for me. Usually dietetic internships are 1 year, but I am in the part-time program so I had Friday’s off this year, which means I go back in the Fall to finish up my rotations.

I was so excited to finally get to sleep/wake up without an alarm. I thought I was going to sleep in late, but my body alarm clock had other plans. I was wide awake at 6:45. Nothing like a healthy breakfast to start the day.

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 8.45.15 AM

Egg whites on an English muffin with a garlic and herb laughing cow cheese wedge and an orange.

I spent the morning putting the finishing touches on my presentation for tonight.

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 11.35.04 AM

 

Munched on this chocolately nut mix for a mid morning snack. Then took my dog Charlie for a nice long walk. I’m sure you will see plenty more of Charlie on the blog. He is still a puppy in my eyes and I spoil him šŸ™‚

 

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 11.34.22 AM


IMG_0002

 

After our walk I finally got a chance to catch up on some e-mails and packed for a mother/daughter mini getaway. More to come on that tomorrow.

For lunch I whipped up a smoothie and a corn muffin.
Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 11.49.45 PM

 

In the smoothie is a banana, almond milk, chocolate protein powder, peanut butter, and spinach. Using chocolate protein powder makes it turn into an ugly green but it tastes delicious.

Tonight I got the opportunity to be a guest speaker at the NJ Bariatric Center. One of my good friends, Kim, is a Registered Dietitian there and hooked me up big time. I spoke about recipe modifications and healthy cooking techniques. They have 3 different locations in New Jersey: Springfield, Hoboken, and Somerville. Tonight I am presenting at the Springfield location and next Tuesday I will be presenting at the Somerville location. I grabbed a granola bar to snack on the car ride there.

Thanks again Kim for this opportunity!

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 11.31.27 AM
I forgot to snap a picture of us before I left. This is a picture of us last summer from a 5k.

After the presentation I hit the road to Massachusetts with my mom. I’ll give you a hint where we are going. Tina has been there the past two days. We are planning to meet up Wednesday morning. I’m super excited šŸ™‚

I packed a turkey sandwich on rye with cheese and spicy mustard for the road.

Screen shot 2013-05-21 at 11.49.27 PM
 

Can you guess where we are?

Screen shot 2013-05-22 at 12.09.38 AM

 

2 responses to “Guest Speaker at NJ Bariatric Center

Leave a Reply

