Canyon Ranch [Day 2]

Day two of Canyon Ranch was just as great at day one. We slept in a little since our first activity that we wanted to do wasn’t until 9:00. We went to the dining room to have a delicious breakfast to start off the day.

I enjoyed half of a vanilla cranberry muffin and some fruit with a sprinkle of flax from the breakfast bar. I also had a scrambled egg with whole wheat toast and blueberry preserves.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.33.32 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.33.52 PM

The 9:00 class was cardio kickboxing.

Cardio Kickboxing: Wanna be a contender? Join us for a high energy martial arts and boxing inspired training session. Be ready to kick, punch, bob and weave your way through this fun fitness challenge.

The instructor was awesome and really pushed us hard. I was dripping sweat at the end.

For the next session my mom decided to take a water aerobics class. I wasn’t really feeling the pool and I didn’t want a really high impact class because I was a little sore from all the classes yesterday. So I went with yoga for athletes.

Yoga for athletes: A 45-minute class with flowing athletic moves and yoga postures to improve your strength, balance, and flexibility.

It was pretty challenging, but it did feel really good to stretch out. I really need to start taking more yoga classes.

Next, we went to a lecture called Science of weight loss.

Science of weight loss: Arm yourself with information in the fat fight. A physician discusses weight loss management strategies that improve health, boost metabolism, and raise energy levels.

It was pretty basic information. Then the topic veered to weight loss after menopause since most women in the group were in that category. I listened, but I don’t have to worry about that for a long long time! 😉 One thing I didn’t like is they kept trying to push their expensive packages they offer during the lecture.

I was really excited for lunch today. Mom and I decided to go to the “lunch and learn“. Today’s theme was gluten free featuring Thai duck breast with coconut sauce.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.33.20 PMI love this demo kitchen. I would love to be a demo kitchen chef. Along with the chef, a nutritionist sits in on the class to answer any nutrition question. Since todays meal was gluten free she talked about that. I would love to do a combo job of that one day!

We started off with a chilled peach puree soup. It was different, but good! It was funny because my Mom and I both blew on the soup spoon before we ate it even though it was cold. I guess it is just ingrained in our heads to blow on soup. I typically do not eat duck, but I’m glad I tried it because it was delicious. The coconut sauce was amazing.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.34.27 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.34.11 PM

The chef had one for treat for us.. Chocolate Mousse. It wasn’t made in a “healthier version” per se, but it is all about portion control and it was only about 2 oz. Sweet treat to finish a delicious meal. Just what I like!

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 6.22.09 PM

After lunch, we were signed up for a hike! The weather was looking questionable, but it held off during our hike. The hike leader took us in a van to the trail about 10 minutes away. The trail was called Olivia’s Overlook. It was really nice to get outside and have a change of scenery, rather than taking the group classes.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 6.21.59 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 6.22.20 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 6.22.45 PM

We finished our hike at the perfect time because the second we got back in the vans it was pouring.

I grabbed a little snack from the cafe after we got back from the hike.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 6.22.33 PM

I really wanted to try this “peanut butter delight” I saw on the menu. Peanut butter delight is a mixture of ricotta cheese, peanut butter, honey, and cinnamon. It was a little too sweet for me. I think I’m going to recreate this, but with a twist.

Our last two exercise classes were short and we were able to fit in both in the hour. First was Abs on the ball, then Roll n’ release.

Abs on the ball: a 20 minute class featuring abdominal and back stabilization using physioballs.

Roll n’ release: a 20 minute class  deigned to use a foam roller to reduce soreness and enduce relaxation of your muscles.

I love/hate the foam roller. It hurts when you do it, but it really feels good after.

At 4 pm I had a scheduled one on one appointment with one of nutritionist called digestive wellness. I sat down with the nutritionist and discussed my digestive problems I’ve been having and we came up with some solutions. More on that topic in a future post.

Dinner was scheduled at 6:30. Since I am here I wanted to try different menu items. I started with the salad bar and for my entree I tried the seafood stew, which consisted of lobster, shrimp, tilapia, tomato, potato, and corn with a side of polenta. My mom and I also ordered the mushroom strudel to try, which was stuffed with mushrooms, goat cheese, onion, and pine nuts. It was soooo good. I love goat cheese.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.34.50 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.35.19 PM

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.35.03 PM

The mousse was so good this afternoon, I had the raspberry mousse for dessert.

Screen shot 2013-05-23 at 10.35.31 PM

After dinner, I attended a running seminar. I was the only one who showed up, so I got a one on one session with the speaker. He really explained how to improve my running and training to help me work toward my running goals. More on that in a future post too.

Mom and I hit up the steam room and whirlpool to unwind after another jam packed activity filled day. I plan on hitting it hard at the activity classes tomorrow, since in the afternoon I have a massage scheduled! Can’t wait!

3 responses to “Canyon Ranch [Day 2]

  1. Pingback: Canyon Ranch [Day 3] | RDelicious Kitchen·

  2. Pingback: Creamy Peanut Butter Dip | RDelicious Kitchen·

  3. Pingback: Creamy Peanut Butter Dip·

Leave a Reply

