Visit to Penn State

For the past couple days, Adrian and I have been up at Penn State visiting my best Caroline, her girlfriend Lauren, her roommate Kayla and Amy, Kayla’s roommate who was up to visit. It took us a little over 3 hours to get there, but the scenery was beautiful and we blasted Of Monsters and Men on Pandora to keep us occupied. We got there pretty late. We dropped our stuff at the apartment and walked to an outdoor bar to grab a couple of drinks and catch up.

The next morning Caroline made us smoothies for breakfast.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.39.19 PM

 

Caroline got a fun summer job as an ice cream truck driver, so she took Adrian and I to go see it. It’s called the Funky Freezer. I love the name!

20130604-104845.jpg

 

Caroline had an interview for the local newspaper about driving the Funky Freezer this summer, so Adrian and I went back to the apartment to hang out. We played some old school N64 Mario Kart. I always have to be Yoshi when I play! Remember this game? What character did you use to play?

Later on, Caroline, Adrian, and I, took a walk around the outskirts of the Penn State campus. There was a little farmer’s market we stopped at. We shared some homemade gluten free/dairy free chocolate chip cookies and Caroline bought a little plant.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.37.45 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.37.32 PM

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.37.19 PMAdrian and I really wanted to see the campus because we have never seen it before. The campus is so BIG and beautiful. Even though it is summer vacation to college students, there were many people on campus. I can’t imagine how packed it is when school is back in session. I really wanted to see the Nittany Lion Shrine on campus, but unfortunately it was under construction.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.37.56 PM

 

We also saw some ducklings and a Momma duck hanging out on campus.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.38.07 PM

 

We worked up quite and appetite walking around town and stopped at Chipolte to visit Lauren at work.

 

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.36.28 PM

 

That night Caroline and Kayla had a double header softball game. Adrian, Lauren, Amy, and I were their #1 fans. Caroline and I played softball in high school together. It was fun seeing her play, but also weird that I wasn’t playing with her.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.36.44 PM

 

For dinner Caroline made calzones, but I was still pretty full from the Chipolte, so I opted for another smoothie.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.36.56 PM

 

We played a bunch of games together and chatted the rest of the night.

The next morning, we enjoyed some coffee on the balcony. I am loving this weather right now. It’s perfect. I made my favorite breakfast .. eggs over easy with sliced avocado.

Screen shot 2013-06-05 at 4.37.06 PM

 

We had to pack up and head home early afternoon because I had a softball game tonight. (WE WON 🙂 )

It was a really fun trip with some awesome friends! Can’t wait to do it again.

 

What college did you go and what was your favorite part about college?

Leave a Reply

