Getting back on track {12/1-12/8}

Remember in the summer when I was posting my weekly workouts? To be frank, no idea why I stopped posting them.

Anyway, I want to get back on track with exercise. I do a lot better when I have a plan. Without one I kind of just workout whenever, skip a few days, or cut the workouts short. My main goal is to get back into running shape. I plan on signing up for a half marathon this May. It will be a good motivator through the winter when most of my runs will have to be on the treadmill.

3193019967301066b6792ffd98d3e0c1.jpg

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 6.35.13 PM.png

I am coming back from an injury, so my plan was to take things a little slow this week to get back in the routine of consistently working out. Feeling pretty confident because I kicked this weeks plan’s butt. Going to continue with this positive attitude into next weeks workouts.

Sunday 12/1
Run/walk on the treadmill 2:1 for 20 minutes.

This was a test to see if I was ready to hit the gym again. I injured my back and took 2 full weeks off of exercise. Felt a little bit of nagging aches but nothing severe.

Monday 12/2
Plan: teach spin class, volleyball game
Actual: taught spin class, played volleyball game

My friends and I joined a few sports leagues that have various sports. This season we signed up for volleyball. It’s a fun way to stay active and see my friends during the work week.

Tuesday 12/3
Plan: 2 miles
Actual: 2 miles outside, no walk breaks. It was so nice out I took advantage. A quick loop around the neighborhood and I was feeling pretty good.

Wednesday 12/4
Plan: 2 miles
Actual: subbed/taught a morning spin class, .50 min run/.10 min walk (x4) on the treadmill

Still wanted to get some miles of running in. I knew if I didn’t stay at the gym and just do it there, there was no way I was going to run later. My legs were absolute jello after. In hindsight, I should have probably gotten to the gym early and ran before spin. My legs were tired.

Thursday 12/5
Plan: 45 minutes elliptical
Actual: subbed/taught spin class

I had planned to make Thursdays cross training days. I just so happened to get a call from the gym asking if I could sub the 6:45 spin class for the next 2 weeks. Two minutes later I get call back asking if i want to take over the class. Woo!! Another spin class added to the schedule. I love teaching spin.

Friday 12/6
Plan: 3 miles outside
Actual: 4 miles on the treadmill at the gym. Was feeling great during the run so I pushed myself to 4 miles. Listen to Bastille Pandora which helped me stayed occupied. No walk breaks!!!

Saturday 12/7
Plan: teach spin class, 10 minute stair master
Actual: spin class, 10 minute stair master

I forgot how hard the stair master is! Each week I want to try to increase the speed and time.

Sunday 12/8
Plan: 3 miles run/walk 2:1, increasing the speed every run interval
Actual: 3 miles.. run/walk 2:1 for 1.5 miles, then run/walk 2:2 for 1.5 miles. With the speed increasing every interval the second half was significantly harder. I needed a little more time to catch my breathe in between.

Screen shot 2013-12-08 at 4.37.59 PM.png

1 hour spin playlist

21db6cdf7282ae6884cdbc8c774d6aa1.jpg

One response to “Getting back on track {12/1-12/8}

  1. Good for you!
    I’ve always wanted to teach spinning. I think it would be great to get a workout in while getting paid!

Leave a Reply

