Half Marathon On My Mind

 

I keep saying how I want to run another half marathon, but now I’m really itching to do one. I really want to get back into the running shape I used to be in. I just need to take the plunge and sign up for a race. I think it will really help motivate me to keep running through the winter when I am stuck doing most of my runs on the treadmill.

The half marathon I have in mind is the Long Branch Half Marathon on April 27th.


download.jpeg

Previously, I used Hal Higdon’s half marathon training schedule. This time I’m going to switch it up a bit. My boyfriend is a really strong runner and he made a training schedule personalized for me. What I like the most is that he’s giving me the training plan two weeks at a time, because looking the whole plan can get overwhelming. Plus, he said he will adjust the plan according to the previous 2 weeks performance.

fa8edb484bede13b631a6e9525bd868f.jpg

Monday 1/06
Plan: Rest/volleyball game
Actual: playoff volleyball game

It was the play-offs for this season’s volleyball league. Unfortunately we were down 2 of our players and we were facing the number one team. We lost all three sets of games. Yikes! Next week we play for 3rd or 4th place.

Tuesday 1/07
Plan: 2.25 miles
Actual: 2.25 miles

It was one of those runs that I just got lost in the music and it just flew by.

Wednesday 1/08
Plan: 2 mile run
Actual: 2 painful slow miles with walking breaks

Maybe my legs were just tired. I set the treadmill on a low speed but still took a few walk breaks. I was just not feeling it today.

Thursday 1/09
Plan: teach spin
Actual: taught 1 hour spin class

See spin playlist below.

Friday 1/10
Plan: 2.25 mile run
Actual: 2.25 miles with negative splits

Challenged myself a lot with the speed. The last .25 miles were a struggle.

Saturday 1/11
Plan: teach spin class
Actual: 1 hour spin class

Sunday 12/16
Plan: 3.5 miles
Actual: 3.5 miles

Longer runs on the treadmill is always such a mental game for me. I watched sports center the whole time to keep me occupied.


Screen shot 2014-01-12 at 3.12.59 PM.png

1 hour spin playlist

 

 

 

What’s your favorite workout song right now?

Leave a Reply

