{Almost} The Start of Half Marathon Training

As the title says {Almost} the start of half marathon training. These past couple of weeks I was really trying to get a solid running base before really committing to training for the half marathon.

One thing I am nervous about starting this new training plan is … the dreadmill. Right now, the roads have been too icy or I’m too chicken to run out in the cold. I know the long run days will quickly start approaching. I hope the weather warms up because 5+ miles on the treadmill stinks!!


51aa27b09d63375ebc56da0f5f53c787.jpg

treadmill2.jpg

Monday 1/06
Plan: Rest/volleyball game
Actual: volleyball game

Since our team lost last week in the playoffs, this week we were playing for 3rd/4th place. The team we played was evenly matched and they squeezed by with the win. This season our team came in 4th place. The next season starts next Monday! This league is so fun.

Tuesday 1/07
Plan: 2.5 mile run
Actual: 2.5 mile run

One of my favorite Friends episodes was on. The run was over before I knew it.

Wednesday 1/08
Plan: 2.25 mile run
Actual: 15 min elliptical, 2.25 mile run

This workout was fueled by a little extra caffeine. Before I went to the gym I was at Starbucks studying and went for a large cup. I definitely felt the caffeine boost and picked up the pace!

Thursday 1/09
Plan: teach spin
Actual: taught 1 hour spin class

I had one woman in my class that was a “wooo-er”. After every challenging part of the class she let out a big “WOOOO”. It got some chuckles during the class.

Friday 1/10
Plan: 2.5 mile run
Actual: 2.5 miles

Challenged myself a lot with the speed. The last .25 miles were a struggle.

Saturday 1/11
Plan: teach spin class
Actual: 1 hour spin class

Sunday 12/16
Plan: 3.75 mile run
Actual: 3.75 miles

I was really struggling between miles 2-3 mentally. I was hating the treadmill today. I can’t wait to get outside and run!

 

6cb1f7b8f137d354adac678d757ea51f.jpg

 

 

How do you conquer training on the “dreadmill”?

One response to “{Almost} The Start of Half Marathon Training

Leave a Reply

