The Perfect Pairing for Girls’ Night

It is known whenever anyone comes to my house, there will be a spread of food or something waiting in the oven to enjoy. As the health minded foodie I am, I don’t like the idea of just dumping a bag of chips in a bowl for my guests. 

Recipe ReDux bloggers were challenged by the Pistachio Health Institute to create a pairing of in-shell pistachios with other food/drink options to create a perfect snack pairing.

I thought this was a very interesting challenge because this is the first time the challenge was NOT to create a recipe, but what best compliments the featured food product.


pistachio pairing RD4.jpg

When working with in-shell pistachios I learned that:

  • A one-ounce serving of pistachios = about 49 nuts, which is more nuts per serving than any other snack nut, and a reduced serving of about 30 pistachios is just about 100 calories. Pistachios are also known as the “skinny nut”.
  • In- shell pistachios can help keep your noshing in check since you have to work a little bit to enjoy them. In fact, two behavioral studies showed if you keep the discarded shells around, they act as a “visual cue” and you will probably consume less calories.

pistachio pairing RD1.jpg

 

The Perfect Pairing for Girls’ Night

Enjoy this salty/sweet spread with good company


pistachio pairing RD2.jpg

 

In-shell pistachios + grapes + cheese + wine

 

In-Shell Pistachios: {salty} Pistachios are known as the “skinny” nuts as noted above, so much away!

Red Grapes: {sweet} Red grape variety are sweeter than green grapes. Grapes are perfect on a spread for picking.

Sharp Cheddar Cheese: {salty} Cabot’s Sharp Cheddar Cheese is creamy & smooth consistency and nutty & tangy flavor is my favorite.

Moscato wine: {sweet} For my birthday my sister’s got me the “Middle Sister” Moscato wine. Moscato is my favorite white wine, with fruit notes of peaches, pears, and citrus.

This was a perfect pairing to munch on while catching up with my best girlfriends. I love the salty/sweet combo. Good food. Good company. Perfect evening.

pistachio pairing RD3.jpg


You can follow the Pistachio Health Institute on Twitter & Facebook for more nutty news & recipe ideas!

Disclaimer: I received free pistachio samples from the Pistachio Health Institute mentioned in this post. By posting this pairing I am entering a contest sponsored by Pistachio Health Institute and am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time.

  

See what the other Recipe ReDux members paired with pistachios:

 

Screen shot 2013-12-17 at 5.28.33 PM.png

 

 

2 responses to “The Perfect Pairing for Girls’ Night

Leave a Reply

