Half Marathon Training Week #4

It was a rough week 4 of my half marathon training.

I’m not quite sure if I would call this an injury because I have no idea what is causing this pain that I’ve been having.

Back story: A few years ago I had a pretty invasive surgery on my right thoracic region that required to divide my ribs to get to where they needed to do the surgery. I got a pretty sweet scar out of it, but I have always felt some discomfort in the area. I always just thought maybe it was from scar tissue or whatnot. That pain would always come and go but never to the point of concern.

On Tuesday when I was running, I felt an intense pain under my right ribs that felt like stabbing. At first I thought it was a really bad cramp, but it has not gone away since. It’s a dull to moderate pain on my right side under my ribs. When I exercise or sometimes even after I eat the pain gets worse. Ice, heat, or Advil have not been helping. Could it be related to my past surgery? Could it be a muscle strain? I am kind of puzzled what can be causing this pain. Anyone have any ideas what this could be?

This new pain has thrown off my training for the week, which to me is frustrating. It’s interfering! I wanted to finish all of the runs this week but couldn’t physically. I know many running training plans out there have a recovery week without increasing milage, so I am considering this my unplanned recovery week!

4ca2d84b8303ed0cabf9fda2120448fb.jpg

Half Marathon Training Week #4

 

Monday 2/10

Plan: Rest/volleyball game
Actual: Rest/volleyball game

Finally a game that wasn’t snowed out! We were down a player this week and unfortunately lost, but I love playing. It’s just fun way to end a Monday.

Tuesday 2/11

Plan: 3.75 mile run
Actual: 2.5 mile run

I was just going about my treadmill run (still too much snow/ice to run outside) and all the sudden at mile 2.25 i got this excruciating pain. I thought it was just a really bad cramp, so I walked for a couple minutes to see if it would go away. I usually just run through cramps because they eventually go away for me. I started to run again and it started hurting even more like a stabbing pain to the point where I was doubled over.

Wednesday 2/12

Plan: 3 mile run
Actual: Rest

My side was still really bothering me. I decided to take a rest day.

Thursday 2/13

Plan: teach spin
Actual: Rest

The gym was closed due to the 3 feet of snow we got that day. I took another rest day in hopes my side will feel better.

Friday 2/14

Plan: 3.5 mile run
Actual: 2.75

My side was still bothering me, but I still wanted to try and get a run in. I was cruising with minimal pain but then at mile 2.5 it became unbearable. I walked for a minute to see if it would help. I tried to start running again, but my body wasn’t having it. I called it quits at 2.75.

Saturday 2/15

Plan: teach spin class
Actual: 1 hour spin class

The microphone didn’t work, so I ended up having to yell throughout the whole class. Not fun, but ya gotta do what ya gotta do.

Sunday 2/16

Plan: 5.5 mile run
Actual: 5.5 miles

After this rough week of running, I didn’t know how this long run was going to turn out. My side was subtly hurting still, but I decided to still try and run. My goal was to at least make it 3 miles without pain. I really slowed down the pace thinking that would help. I made it 3.75 miles with minimal pain. When I it 4 miles the pain started really bothering me. I took a little walk break to see if that would help. For the rest of the run I finished with 2:1 run/walk.

I am just really frustrated because my legs felt fresh and didn’t feel out of breath, but my run was not the best because of my side pain.


49d94b64a81ac55fd1ddd1a1cae54566.jpg

 

Total 2014 miles: 76.75

201401262116.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

