Half Marathon Training Week #8

Slowly but surely, the half marathon is creeping up. I did have my first run of 2014 outside on Tuesday. It was the best feeling to hit the pavement, breathing fresh air, and just getting lost in my music. Unfortunately that didn’t last long, and the rest of my runs for the week, I ended up back on the treadmill.

Funny thing about the treadmill. I run at a much slower pace on the treadmill than outside. Others run faster on the treadmill than outside. Which category do you fit into?

80fafa66a3aa844a5b5f052701c6a3aa.jpg

Half Marathon Training Week #8

 

Monday 3/03

Plan: Rest/volleyball game
Actual: volleyball game

Playoffs round one! The games are usually 6 vs. 6. Our team only had 4 this week. We still pulled off a win with less people. Round two next Monday!

Tuesday 3/04

Plan: 4 mile run
Actual: 4 miles, OUTSIDE

The weather was perfect. Surprised at my time for my first run outside. My pace on the treadmill is significantly slower. The hills definitely were not fun, but I need to get used to them for the race!


photo.jpg

 

Wednesday 3/05

Plan: planned rest day
Actual: rest

I usually don’t take a second rest day of the week, but I knew Wednesday I wouldn’t have time since I had to travel for work. My legs appreciated it because I was a little sore after running outside the day before.

Thursday 3/06

Plan: teach spin, leg workout
Actual: spin

I may have to rethink doing weights after spin. I teach at the peak hours and the gym is packed. Practically all the free weights were taken, and the weight area was cramped.

Friday 3/07

Plan: 4.5 mile run
Actual: 4.5 mile run

I was so exhausted after work on Friday, I didn’t really want to go to the gym. I’m so glad I went. I felt so great after the run.. funny what endorphins can do! I was a little cocky in the beginning of the run and upped the speed since my run outside on Tuesday was a little faster than my treadmill runs. The last mile I was struggling but I finished!

Saturday 3/08

Plan: 3.5 mile run
Actual: rest

The plan was to wake up super early to run since I had plans the rest of the day. That did not happen. I was kind of bummed with myself.

Sunday 3/09


Plan: 7 mile long run
Actual: 7 miles!!

I was hoping I could have done this run outside, but it was super cold and windy again. I was stuck on the treadmill. The mental part of this run was the hardest. My legs felt great! I think those extra rest days may have something to do with it.

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 10.09.22 PM.png

Total 2014 miles: 142.5

201401262116.jpg

 

One response to “Half Marathon Training Week #8

Leave a Reply

